Greetings all!

Today I’m going to address a few ailments that I’ve struggled with nearly my entire life in hopes to bring awareness to this very real problem.  In 1987 I experienced my first earthquake at age 13, it was the single most terrifying experience ever.  All of a sudden out of no where the earth started to shake violently, I saw my mother tossed side to side down our hallway, I saw my dad nearly drop to his knees while trying to grab my mother, my brothers running around not knowing what to do and me, I was just frozen. And then just like that it was all over!  And that my friends was the first time I experienced an anxiety attack, I had no idea what was going on, all I knew was my heart was racing, I was hyperventilating, all I could do was point and cry, I couldn’t muster the words to speak, I was literally frozen with fear.

As an adult I still experience panic/anxiety attacks. I was hopped up on all sorts of pharmaceuticals for anxiety/depression, OCD, anything they could give a pill for they did and I happily took it. From early 20’s until my late 30’s I popped pills for back pain, stress/anxiety/depression, and quite honestly, I just wanted to feel numb, until I was put into a situation where a friend rescued me with cannabis.

My mother lived in Colorado during the time she had a stroke and there was nothing I could do, I felt lost and helpless.  I was on the phone with doctors, neurosurgeons and the nurses, my mother was being well taken care of. Me on the other hand, no so much.  I had to keep it together for my mother and my kids who were visiting her at the time.  I hadn’t slept in nearly 3 days, I was exhausted, my stress and anxiety was so severe I was physically ill throwing up, horrible headaches, feeling of nausea never ceased, uncontrollable shaking and that feeling of nervousness, I just couldn’t shake it.

My good friend who’s an old time hippie handed me a little bubbler, a container of some OG and a little silicone jar of wax.  She showed me how to pack the bubbler and incorporate the wax, she said it will help with sleep as well as take the edge off. Honestly, I didn’t believe her, all I could think about was how paranoid I got thinking the Anaheim Police were flying over my house after my buddy and I smoked a blunt in my back yard when we were 18.

I broke off some wax, placed it on top of my cannabis, lit up, took a hit, and holy moly cow – that first hit, that first head high, it was GLORIOUS! I immediately felt relaxed, I couldn’t believe it!  I took another couple of hits, walked around my house and started to giggle thinking to myself “omg, I’m so high, this is so great!”.  Before I knew it, I was waking up the next day totally refreshed and revived.  I didn’t want to open my eyes, I didn’t want to face the possibility of feeling “hung over” from smoking cannabis.  Much to my surprise, I wasn’t hung over, I felt amazing, I was finally able to get the sleep I needed! I instantly fell in love with cannabis!

As stated in last weeks blog, everyone has to experiment with flower, concentrates and edibles to find what works best.  Personally, heavy Indica’s are a favorite for night time and sleep.  I still suffer from anxiety but am well in tune with my body, and can get a handle on it once the onset of it starts to surface.  If I don’t want a heavy Indica during the day, I typically will smoke or vape a Hybrid, Indica dominate oil or flower.  If I know I’m going to be in a stressful situation like festivals or business conferences where there’s thousands of people running around, I’ll take a small dose of an edible and always have my vape pen on me locked and loaded.

Toke on friends, cannabis is a clean and pure medicine for multiple ailments.  Check out some of these links for more information:

Best Strains for Anxiety

CBD & Anxiety

Best Cannabis to Relieve StressDSC01253

 

