As a practicing medicinal cannabis patient I’ve had to experiment with multiple cannabis products to find what works best for my ailments.  I’ve had to smoke a lot of different kinds of cannabis before I found the perfect Sativa and Indica.  Edibles, flowers and concentrates all have a different “high”, and each induce a different effect, and I use each one for different times of the day.

My first recommendation is to listen to your bud tender, more times than not they have been trained and have also tried the products they work with so as to better serve the patient. Always start with a low dosage, you can always build the high, but you can’t “un-eat” the edible, start slow and low.  I typically wait 30-45 minutes after I eat an edible, if you see the effect is less than desirable, take 1/2 of a dose, at this point you will have consumed 1 1/2 doses, build 1/2 dose at a time and wait up to 30 minutes to gage full effect of the medicine.  I always suggest to first time patients of edibles to try the treats at home, be in a safe and comfortable environment.  You’ve all heard stories of patients consuming too much of an edible and being couch locked, don’t fret, the worst thing that will happen is you’ll fall asleep.  Keep in mind, edibles are a “body” high, whereas smoking/dabbing is a “head” high.  Follow the recommended dosage on the package, and wait, and then wait some more, then slowly add until you reach the sedation that suits you.

Edibles are great for pain management and insomnia. Once you’ve gaged your target dosage, I personally slowly incorporated flower into the night regimen. I typically smoke a heavy Indica for night-time which helps relax me until the edible kicks in.  During the day if I’m experiencing back pain (due to roll-over car accident) I can pretty much have my pick of any of these lovely strains and more: Girl Scout Cookie, Jack Herer, & Tangie.  GSC is a bit of a heavy hybrid, but still a go to favorite.  Both Jack and Tangie are lighter Sativas that also help if you struggle with anxiety and depression.

I have a patient who is a Veteran, and Veterans have a very special place in my heart (if you are a Veteran reading this, or Active Duty, THANK YOU FOR YOUR SERVICE!), he completed several tours in Afghanistan, needless to say he came home with debilitating PTSTD.  He started to recognize he was becoming anti-social, was becoming increasingly agitated, slowly falling into a funk.  He reached out and as mentioned in the beginning he had to experiment with different products to see what works best for him.  Much to my surprise he contacted me a few days later letting me know he took a dose of edible the night before, “I’m a square in at work and damn, this is awesome! No anxiety, feel balanced, great energy”.  His message brought tears to my eyes, a Veteran, a man who willingly fought for his country and whether we agree or disagree on our government and politics, the fact remains the same, these men and women put their lives on the line for each and every one of us.  To be able to assist a Veteran, and help improve his quality of life is more than I could have ever wished for.

The cat’s out of the bag!  There is medicinal use for cannabis which targets multiple ailments. Our senior citizens are turning to cannabis as it’s showing to slow the progression of Alzheimer’s and Dementia.

Remember – no matter what edible you ingest, start small, wait (did we mention wait) and discover what works for you.

Please click on the links below for some helpful information and resources:

MedicalJane: Introduction to Edibles

HelloMD: Best Edibles for Insomnia

LeafScience: Beginners Guide to Cannabis Edibles

Photo By: Rebekah L. Baez

Edibles: Homemade by our very own ranch cultivator, Gale.DSC00987

